#breakthelabel

While inching my way toward the office this morning I am guided toward thoughts about what and who I am. I chase these thoughts around for a few miles and the song “Who Are You” by The Who pops into my head. I pull to the side of the road and proceed to download this song so I can listen to it.
This seems to be the ultimate question for humanity, and certainly seems to be coming up a lot for me lately. I am constantly wrestling with the labels I have been taught to describe what I am. I have been told since I was born that I am a human being of the male gender, an American citizen, and have been given the name John. I have no reason to dispute any of these labels, nor any others that I have accepted throughout my time here on earth. Today there are a host of characteristic labels that fit my persona. Some of these include father, son, spiritual vessel, brother, cousin, uncle, friend, owner, employee, resident, and a few ethnic labels that I choose not to even name. There are also labels to describe certain personality traits, and even those based on my involvement in certain activities. You would think that with this plethora of descriptive terminology one might be able to ascertain just who and what I am. Fortunately I am not these things. I have accepted each of them to the point of allowing them to be part of my current reality; however, they are only agreements that I have made with this physical universe. The essence of who I am may have prompted me to express myself in some of these ways but should not be constrained to any system of labeling. The best way to describe who I am consists of only two words. I am. I would have to describe myself and all other beings as pure potential just because of their very existence. My mother always told me that I could do or be anything I wanted to if I would just set my mind to it. I look back now and realize that there many instances where she really had an amazing grasp of true nature of our world, and I am so grateful for the seeds of inquisition and appreciation she planted so many years ago. As we begin to shift our awareness toward these higher level thought processes, the cosmic energy begins to change and collectively we are evolving and elevating our physical existence. I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to the keeper of the stars for the guidance toward this awareness.

Leave a comment